The Accreditation and Development Program is available to public libraries located in counties in which SWKLS levies a tax.  SWKLS Public Library Accreditation is a grant requirement.

Accreditation process

The accreditation requirements vary depending on several factors, including the size of the library. There are seven different services levels (classifications):

  • Gateway                                
  • Linking
  • Service Center I                     
  • Service Center II                     
  • Major Service Center I            
  • Major Service Center II          
  • Major Resource Center           

Fewer than 500 people

500 – 1,000 people

1,000 – 2,500 people

2,500 – 10,000 people

10,000 – 25,000 people

25,000 – 100,0000 people

More than 100,000 people

Additionally, SWKLS staff is available to assist libraries with the accreditation process.

Extended service grants

All accredited libraries who are taxing members of the system will be eligible for extended service grants. The amount distributed varies, is paid monthly, and is determined by library classification.

*NEW* Accreditation grants

Starting in 2019, all accredited libraries are eligible for a $1,000 accreditation grant. The grants will be made in one yearly payment to each qualifying library.